Thursday, April 25, 2013

Mayberger Wins Horse Racing Photojournalist Of The Year For 2012

     Many great photos were entered in this year's Horse Racing Photojournalist's Photos of the Year, but there could only be one winner. By virtue of a win, a split win and placing a total of six images in the inaugural contest, Bob Mayberger has been named Horse Racing Photojournalist Of The Year For 2012.
     Mayberger's entry portfolio included images of Frankel's final win, Black Caviar winning at Ascot, horses training on the beach at Deauville and a lovely portrait of star jockey Rosie Napravnik. Congratulations to Mayberger on the win.
     Congratulations should also go out to Jay Moran for finishing in second place and Matt Wooley finishing in third place. Not only were their images favorites with the judges, their images received the lion's share of the votes in the preliminary voting.
     To that end, Marcie Heacox should also be congratulated. Her photo, Groom Hug, received the most fans in Round 1.
     Rounding out the Top 5 in the Horse Racing Photojournalist Of The Year For 2012 were Alex Evers with a fourth place finish and Adam Mooshian with a fifth place.

Bob Mayberger - 18.5 points
Jay Moran - 14.5 points
Matt Wooley - 13 points
Alex Evers - 11 points
Adam Mooshian - 9 points

      We would love your impressions on the contest. Moving forward, the plan is to have the images completely handled by judges to remove any hint of there being a "popularity contest" among the images. We will also have a fan voting side of things to allow for a fan favorite.  We are also hoping to increase our sponsorships next year to move to an automated entry system. This will ensure anonymity for the entrants among the judges. It ill also give us more latitude in placing a watermark/copyright on entries. The biggest complaint we have received so far is with regards to image protection. Next year, we will do a much better job in that regard.
     We hope you have enjoyed our inaugural edition of the Horse Racing Photojournalist's Photos of the Year.